Below are the results of the 2019 Open Publishing Awards. We present 11 amazing projects that we hope you both learn from and help us celebrate.

The intention of the awards is to bring stories to you about the amazing diversity of open projects that exist today in publishing. If you tweet, blog, or you are a reporter or researcher we hope that you will join us and use your tools to explore and amplify each of these amazing stories about open publishing to the world.

Show them some love!

Open Content

Open Source Software

Open publishing models

Open publishing lifetime contributions

About the Judges

We are very lucky to have a fantastic panel of judges. We have listed each below followed by bios. Please note there are three people listed from the awesome Whose Knowledge? as they are participating as a collective and sharing judging duties between them. Judges listed alphabetically by first name.

Adele Vrana (Whose Knowledge?)
Anasuya Sengupta (Whose Knowledge?)
Ann Michael (PLOS)
Cameron Neylon – Chair – (Curtin University)
Danielle Robinson (Code for Science and Society)
Gimena del Rio Riande (Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas)
John Chodacki (California Digital Library)
Natasha Simons (Australian Research Data Commons)
Neil Chue Hong (Software Sustainability Institute)
Siko Bouterse (Whose Knowledge?)
Tony Wasserman (Open Source Initiative)